Dordogne Luxury Gite

Self catering in Dordogne

Holiday home with Spa

Holiday home with Hot Tub

Luxury Gite in Dordogne

Holiday home with Jacuzzi

Holiday Home in Dordogne with hot tub

Reviews

"A piece of paradise" - July 2019 (Trip Advisor)

 

 

Beautiful Gite in a stunning location. Very friendly and helpful owners. Two-generation holiday was so relaxing. The lake is fantastic. Lots of things do do nearby, although you won't want to leave the lake and house too often. Already booked again for next year.

"Stunning, perfect, luxury"​ - June 2018 (HomeAway)

 

We had an amazing holiday at this lovely holiday home. The decor, furniture and attention to detail in the property made it feel like a beautiful home from home.
Our joy was the decking area outside, the jacuzzi (with excellent outdoor shower), swimming and fishing (not at the same time!) in the Lake and the relaxing view.
Mark and lindsay sent us excellent communication before our holiday and in fact them being English, knowing what they would like to find in a holiday home, made for a well-prepared home.
Comfortable beds, lots of good storage, spare garden chairs in garage, wine fridge, extra fridge space in garage and blackout blinds in bedrooms, we're some of the little extras that made such a great holiday venue.
The owners living nearby also meant they gave us great excursion tips!

"A wonderful holiday let."​ - June 2018 (HomeAway)

We stayed here for a week in June. We were a party of 2 couples and a toddler. What a fantastic holiday rental. Mark and Lindsay were so welcoming and made it clear that if there were any problems, they would be available (there weren't)! They left a pack of local beers - I would thoroughly recommend an early trip to the microbrewery (details in the visitors book) - really fantastic and the only place you can buy the beer. Cleanliness wise, the place was spotless. All bedrooms were made up to a beautiful standard and they had put a stair gate on as requested. The beds we used were very comfortable. All the windows had black out blinds - coupled with local wine, this made for very good sleep! The living area was as good as the upstairs. Comfy sofas, a lovely dining table and a well thought out kitchen/breakfast bar area. The kitchen was well stocked - cookware, glasses and plates etc. The hot tub was fantastic - as was the outside shower. It was as clean and well kept as the rest of the house. In a gorgeous setting (trust me, the pictures don't do it justice). My husband likes fishing - he did a bit of it from the jetty by the lake - the fish were biting (but he only managed to catch the little ones - the bottom of the lake had crayfish). All told it really was a lovely place to be which made for a lovely holiday - with plenty of room for 8 people. Hopefully I will be able to go back.

"Stunning barn, fabulous holiday!"​ - June 2018 (HomeAway)

This was our second trip to La Vieille Etable, having first stayed three years ago. What can we say, this time it was even better than the first! We returned with our 6 month old son, who absolutely loved it. The owners have made some differences that make this barn stand out even more. The same arrivals pack was awaiting us, as before, but with the addition of a couple of locally brewed beers. It was fair to say these were needed after the long drive from Calais. If you have time to visit the brewery to see how it's all done, it's well worth a trip. The big changes we noticed were the gated entrance to a landscaped seating area at the front and the decking in the back garden. The decking itself must have doubled which makes eating lunch or dinner even easier. The hot tub has been moved to a separate part with a newly installed outdoor shower next to it. The days of running upstairs to shower before getting in have well and truly disappeared. A small piece of decking has also been built next to the lake with an access ladder. If you are brave enough to go for a swim, this is handy for getting out. Our dogs just loved the fact they had somewhere to launch themselves from to go for a swim. Inside, the house has been redecorated which feels more homely and made our stay more comfortable. Although it was hot outside, the barn was easy to keep cool, which meant our 6 month was extremely happy. Can't wait to book our next stay already!

"Fantastic barn in a beautiful setting!"​ - May 2018 (HomeAway)

My family and I spent 5 days at La Ville Etable in May and had the most amazing time. On arriving at the barn we were very happy to see it looked even better than the photos. Everything was clean and kept to a very high standard. The welcome pack including tea bags, coffee pods and local beer left by Mark and Lindsay was a lovely touch! The barn had plenty of space for our family of 5 and the open plan lay out on the ground floor is perfect for socializing. Although we didn’t get much use out of the swimming lake as it was a bit too cold in May we found the hot tub was a perfect way to relax on an evening. Before we arrived I enquired about restaurant recommendations which would cater for a gluten free diet. Mark quickly came back with a number of options and their friends restaurant Reumors, just 15 minutes away, did not disappoint - local produce cooked perfectly. If you’re looking for a relaxing stay in a peaceful location with plenty of attractions to see just a short drive away then look no further. Mark and Lindsay have a beautiful home and I would recommend it to anyone. If we get the chance we will definitely be back!

"Wonderful Holiday Home"​ - July 2017 (Holiday Lettings)

 

We spent a marvelous week in July 2017 in the Wonderful La Vieille Etable. The barn is a modern conversion with an immaculate finish. Everything you could possibly need is provided. Views from the deck over the freshwater Swimming/Fishing lake are stunning, and were also enjoyed from the Hot Tub. The outdoor shower was a revelation and was used daily. Mark and Lindsey were very welcoming and helpful - perfect hosts. Great location for exploring the Northern Dordogne - Very peaceful and relaxing. Hope to visit again.

"Incredible Views, Beautiful Barn"​ - June 2017 (Air BnB)

 

Incredible week of gorgeous weather and waking up to the most beautiful view. The barn was even better than the photographs and was perfectly equipped with everything we needed for our holiday. Mark and Lindsay were very helpful and friendly, showed us around the property and made us feel right at home helping us enjoy our holiday. They gave us loads of information about the local area and what we could do. Even offered to book us reservations at local restaurants that they had recommended. I have already recommended a few friends to visit the Barn and I will definitely look to come back in the future

"Fabulous converted barn in an idyllic setting"​ - September 2016 (Home Away)

 

We had a fabulous 2 weeks with our dog in La Vieille Etable. It was everything we had hoped it to be: luxurious, set in a quiet village, excellent views over the countryside and, to top it all off, it had its own lake! Perfect for cooling off on hot sunny days (for both us and the dog!).

The house is very well equipped and maintained, so much so that we couldn't think of much else to add to the list of suggested improvements/additions. Lindsay and Mark have pretty much thought of everything and provided a great information package for the house prior to our arrival; including very useful and detailed directions on how/where to find the house on reaching the village.

The location was perfect too; off the main throroughfare of the region, but local highlights were still easily accessible. 

All in all a fantastic property which we would thoroughly recommend as a base for a relaxing holiday in the Dordogne.

“A blissful French holiday!” - August 2016 (Trip Advisor)

I have to start with the beautiful setting of this wonderful home! The view you wake up to every day is gorgeous and the whole 'feel' of the place totally chilled us out within a very short time of being there. The property is extremely well equipped and everything is thought of by the owners. The rooms are very comfortable and the luxury Hot tub was fabulous and easy to operate, we used it most evenings in fact!
La Coquille is a local town only about 2 miles away and there we found a couple of Bars, Restaurants, Bakery's and a small supermarket so we could stock up on those holiday essentials!
All in all we had the most Blissful time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend booking La Vieille Etable! We'll definitely be going back!!

“Wonderfully private location for relaxing week” - August 2016 (Trip Advisor)

Beautifully well equipped house with everything you need. The swimming lake is great and to then be able to soak in the hot tub afterwards was lovely. Great views from the rear decking and it's very private and quiet too, would recommend.

“Perfect Holiday” - July 2016 (Trip Advisor)

Absolutely lovely week at La Vielle Etable gite. Perfect location in a quiet village but ideally situated to explore around the area. Mark and Lindsay were fabulous and very helpful even booking our appointment with the local vet for us. The gite was well equipped and spacious, we had 5 members of family and there was plenty of room for us. The hot tub was the great favourite for my daughter! We all used the lake for swimming, including our dog and the grounds were a great space for him to explore. All in all a great holiday and we would definately go again.

“Very nice place - we as family of 5 enjoyed it very much.” - July 2016 (Trip Advisor)

Wonderful house in a very nice environment. Bedrooms all nice and comfortable, well equiped kitchen, beautiful living room with a nice view onto the little lake.
We went swimming every day for hours in the lake, nice water to swim in. 
We can highly recommend the house, all our expectations were fully met. We had the perfect holiday.

“A stunning barn set within lovely grounds” - September 2015 (Trip Advisor)

 

On arrival at La Vieille Etable, we were greeted by a picturesque French barn. The interior is spacious and modern with exposed beams throughout. We found the welcome pack a lovely touch, with wine already in the fridge and other necessities such as tea, coffee, fresh milk and even dishwasher tablets for those lazy evenings!

Inside we were spoilt for choice in terms of space, with fantastic open plan living downstairs and 4 big bedrooms upstairs. The evenings could get a little chilly, so the wood burner in the lounge was certainly put to use. The barn was extremely clean and tidy in every room, and maintained to a high standard.

Whether you are sitting on the decking or relaxing down by the lake, the barn benefits with having unspoilt views from every angle. Our 2 dogs loved the amount of space there was to run around and explore. By evening, a glass of wine whilst lounging in the hot tub certainly finished the days off well. We were lucky on a few occasions to have clear skies, and could see shooting stars.

The surrounding area has lots to explore, with plenty of pretty villages to see. One evening instead of cooking, we arranged for a 3 course meal to be delivered by Sam, a local chef. The food was incredible and only cost £15 per person!

Overall, a fantastic break in a lovely location which we thoroughly enjoyed. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending the barn to our friends, and we are already planning our next holiday.

 

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner

Your age range 18-24

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.

“Exclusive property with amazing grounds and private lake” - July 2015 (Trip Advisor)

 

We specifically selected the property for the swimming lake as it was our cocker spaniel's first trip abroad and we wanted a nearby lake so he could cool off. We stayed here in July 2015 during a heatwave. The lake is amazing and the evening frog chorus is quite comical - frog stalking was a number one pastime for the dog - frogs who seemed to delight in taunting him - rest assured he never managed to catch one! The wildlife is amazing with buzzards, woodpeckers living in the trees in the garden and we even had a visit from a couple of deer one evening. The timber deck is the focus during the hot summer, although we were concerned that it was north facing it is surprisingly sunny all day. We didn't use the hot tub as we have one ourselves and don't use that any more but can comment that it's brand new. And high quality. The property itself is easy to access and is very well appointed inside with everything being brand new and spotless. You can really tell that few people have stayed here, owing to it being new to the market, so it has that nice and exclusive 'newness' to it that is a real treat. We wanted for nothing throughout the stay, every kitchen utensil you need is there and there is a dishwasher, washing machine and drier (both new) so if you want to you can travel lighter and wash your clothes therefore avoiding check in baggage if you fly. The welcome pack was most useful and a thoughtful extra with a bottle of wine, dishwasher tablets and tea and coffee.

“Beautiful place with amazing views from every angle.” - June 2015 (Trip Advisor)

 

The property was impeccably clean and tidy. Spacious 4 bedrooms, 2 shower rooms, lovely living area with Sky and Wii, fishing/swimming lake, hot tub and BBQ. For that special touch we had a welcome pack on arrival consisting of tea, coffee, sugar, wine and much more. The dish washer was a god send so we didn't waste our holiday time washing up (even dish washer tablets were provided!!!) the property is in between a number of towns with a vast ray of places to visit and only a short drive from the airport. 
Overall a beautiful, lovely property with amazing views from every angle. I can't recommend this place high enough. Couples, families, friends and even dogs are welcome and would love this accommodation. I am looking forward to my next visit already.

A wonderful experience in the stunning French countryside” - March 2015 (Trip Advisor)

 

The 'Old Stable' is a spacious and modern home, with gorgeous furniture and variety with colours. There were 4 large, double-bed bedrooms with a vanity table for each room. There were 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets (one upstairs and one downstairs). When we came in, it was impeccably clean. Outside, it was gorgeous. The neighbours were very pleasant and the greenery and lake was lovely. The hot tub was great and really enjoyable for the kids.

 

Travelling group: Young Children

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.

Recommended for:

Friends getaway

Older travelers

Families with young children

Large groups

People with pets

“A wonderful break & excellent setting” - February 2015 (Trip Advisor)

 

I have never been to the Dordogne before but I had heard good things. I can't say enough in the way of good things about this place. If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxed break this is ideal, it's close enough to visit many landmarks of the French Dordogne yet tucked away so that you can enjoy the bliss of the countryside. We were very pleased that the accommodation was only a short trip from Limoges airport, we hired a small car and it did us well for the week. 

Don't be fooled by (old converted barn) this place is high spec, the underfloor heating throughout the ground floor really made it homely as the temperature in February was not much passed 10 degrees. It has a brand new hot tub that we really got out use out of. The bedrooms were surprisingly large and the overall interior has been tastefully furnished and well equipt.

We were with friends all of a similar age (25-26) we all loved it and can not wait to get back at our earliest opportunity and enjoy it all over again. 

I would recommend this to young, elderly & families alike. It offers something for everyone. 

“A little gem hidden away in rural France” - February 2015 (Trip Advisor)

 

 

We stayed at this love old stable in February 2015, before today I have never really bothered with writing trip advisor reviews, however this place was unbelievable so I thought it deserved one.


So here's my review....

A luxury gite with lovely owners, me and my girl friend are 26/25 respectively, we flew out from east mids via Ryanair in February to Limoges. A short drive from the airport we pulled out this most amazing barn. From the moment we walked in to the warm under heated floor and champagne and wine already in the fridge, to the first time we watched the sunset whilst lying in the hot tub, to the huge log burner in the lounge we had the best time.

I was slightly skeptical when we booked this as the barn didn't have a review and was a bit of an unknown but it's a hidden gem. The owners of the gite are fantastic the information they gave us and how they helped really went above and beyond what you would expect.

The barn it's self had 4 double rooms, a lovely lake and land + the added bonus of the hot tub and log burner! It ticked every box for us, we wanted somewhere to escape and see a small part of France whilst relaxing away from the hustle and bussle of our lives. We came back feeling so refreshed it has been a fantastic week.

We had dinner cooked for us by a local English lady, who previously was a chef Sam Dingley, the food was amazing, service was top class all for £15 for three courses!

I can not recommend this place highly enough, we have already contacted the owners about a return trip next year as we had such a lovely time.

 

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner

 

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?   Yes.

"A little bit of paradise in France" - September 2014 (Owners Direct)

 

We were among the first to visit this property, new to the holiday market, in September. The owners have certainly done their homework. The barn is beautifully decorated and furnished, with ample seating. The bedrooms are well appointed and the beds very comfortable.

 

Evenings can be cool at this time of year, and the log burning stove was a joy. We really loved lounging in the hot tub, especially with a glass of wine. It was great to sit on the decking in the morning sunshine, enjoying our croissants, bought from the little boulangerie a five minute walk away. We enjoyed strolling around the extensive grounds and swimming in the small lake.

 

La Vieille Etable makes an excellent base for exploring the surrounding countryside and we are already planning our next visit

Recommended for: Age 55+, pet friendly, sightseeing, families with teenagers and romantic getaway

LinziPinzi Web Design

HFD Logo.png
British Military Discount
air bnb logo.png